8 – 9

Counties of Ireland


Counties of Ireland

What to do with this activity?

Ireland is divided into four provinces: Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connacht. Each province has several counties. Ulster is made up of counties from both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. The Republic of Ireland has 26 counties, and Northern Ireland has 6 - a total of 32 counties in the whole island of Ireland.

When we get back to travelling you can get your child to notice the counties you pass through. You could see on a map which counties are beside where you live. Your child might know which counties are good at hurling, Gaelic football or soccer. See where those counties are.

Here's an online game from Seterra that will challenge you and your child - see how many you can get right. Keep trying and you will both learn where each county is. Another game too here from Ireland 101 to test your knowledge. The yellow activity link below has a blank map, you can print. It just has the county boundaries marked. See how many counties your child can identify. 

  • Why am I doing this?

    Pretend games help your child to develop their language skills and practise things they have seen and heard. Games and activities that build concentration and thinking skills are great for your child. They build skills such as being able to see patterns, being able to group things together and using numbers. Being able to join in games and working with you or other people on a project, is a life skill used every day and a way many people learn.

  • How can I do more?

    Encourage your child to tell you about games they play – with other children, at school or on the computer. Get them to explain the rules of the game to you. Imaginative play is important too so encourage your child in any creative play they are engaged in.  

Rate this activity

Based on 30 reviews
How would you rate it?
1 = Poor, 5 = Great.

Keep in touch
Sign up for more tips